New Years End Trends

December 31, 2011 at 6:21 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

It is now New Years Eve morning when all through the house,not a creature was stirring,not even my dog as she has already eaten,gone outside,barked at the neighboring dogs, and is nestled quietly back in her warm bed. I am once again sitting here in my office with this time my morning cup of coffee. Today is sunny,cold but no 40 mile an hour wind blowing. I was just sitting here thinking about what I had heard from a popular news program I never watch. There seems to be some growing trends at the end of this year there are as follows:

It seems to be a growing trend I hear to show off and actually wear our Christmas gifts. I know I am only fifty, but when I was growing up, this was called polite and good manners. You always are seen in what grandma and grandpa bought you and it did NOT matter if you liked it or not. When you seen your grandparents,aunts uncles and such,you told them thank you again for the gift. If it is a birthday mind you, you sent a HANDWRITTEN thank you note. (A little side note to add, if I had ever thought of saying what I might had been thinking,because I did not like something, I would have been a wall fixture somewhere).

The next growing trend is the little girls and boys that are on you tube showing off expensive bags, jeans and such with a “non-bragging disclaimer.” when there are so many children homeless and nothing to eat I do not feel sorry for some little ” ”  who did not get his or her iPhone this year. Poor maybe not poor dad did not know the little girl was disappointed until it was on you tube. I am sorry,but my son at 15 years old, bought his own phone,and paid for his own plan because I was a single parent,he knew one I could not afford his phone and plan also, I was not going to pay for his luxury.

The next growing trend is on a commercial. WHY do we have Ansestry.com? Over the last couple of years, I can not tell you how many countless hours my mom and I have sat in her living room and just talked about her life in Chatsworth. My mom lived next to the Stage coach Inn(anyone remember the movie Golden Ear ring?) My mom used to go all through the Stage coach Inn when she was a little girl. The movie  Company left everything when the movie was done filming.I know things have really changed in the last few years. I love to hear about her family in Kansas and Colorado. This is why I do not understand why we have a website to tell us about our past.If  we wanted to go back and see how far we can trace our roots,okay,but when there is a commercial on about having dinner at the table as a family that is hard to swallow. My family growing up always sat at the table and talked about our days. if we needed help with homework or such, it was there. Mom and dad got home the same time every night.

I just know things have really changed in the past few years.it is sad there are no jobs to speak of for our youth. There are no jobs for the adults either. it is getting harder and harder to provide for your family. Next Year we choose a new President Maybe anyway.

In 2012,I wish you joy,peace prosperity,happiness,a new sence of familt time, and be thankful you have a home to go home to and a family to fill the house.

HAPPY NEW YEARS EVERYONE and GOD RICHLY BLESS EVRYONE OF MY READERS.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

