Either you like the snow,or you do not….

January 19, 2012 at 11:29 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Yesterday, it snowed here five inches, today  it is Still snowing hard . I almost got stuck in the parking lot at work because they didn’t plow it yet. Fun Times. Either you like the snow concept or you do not. Today my thoughts run in the middle. I like the snow, I think it is pretty but not when you have to drive in the stuff around the people who do not know how to drive in the stuff. The police is out patrolling the streets not to keep us safe today, they are checking the  sorry soul who was driving to fast  when the morning temperature out was a mere 16 degrees outside.

I started my new job on Monday. I am liking it so far. I am cooking at an Assistant Living facility. I worked for the Company in 2004, when the Company had a big layoff, I think most of the employees were let go. My last job ended in November , so I have been looking for work like so many are these days. It is sad how many folks can’t make the rent anymore and there are kids hungry at night. We are supposed to be one of the richest nations. I think it is sad when families raised their kids in the family home in 1960, are loosing the home today.

I had a fun time this morning watching my little dog trudge through the snow up to her belly to go poop. Gizmo likes to take a stroll around the yard to find a good place. I do however have a problem with my dog and it is not cute anymore when it is one a.m. I do have to get up and work all day while you missy dog can lounge around the house all day and sleep if you want to.(There is something wrong with this picture). I had gotten Gizmo from my last  employer. I was taking care of an elderly man and when he died in November, his daughter asked if I could take Gizmo because she loved me and would listen to me. 

I am working on a few stories to submit to a few publications this year. One story I am working on is for  ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul” There are two stories I would like to submit to. One story  is on being a parent.  I lost my husband to his disease when my son was young. As a young widowed mother, I had the awesome responsibility to raise my son. My son died in a car accident four years ago. The second story I am working on is ‘The Power of Being Positive’. Life comes at you fast .You have the choice in life when difficulties come ; You can be a lemon taster  or you can keep moving forward in the good things God still has for your life. My life changed in a moment literally. I choose to keep moving forward. Part of my being able to stay positive is a faith in God, and accepting my son’s death. There was nothing I could do about the situation.  Levi did not suffer. The next story I am working on is for a local publication called ‘Good News Northwest’. The paper has been good to publish excerpts from my book.

I am enjoying my life. I am in a good place. I enjoy my writing, my job, I have a great place to get dressed in the morning. My son’s room is my dressing room. I put his life in pictures up on the wall. I am glad I have great memories of raising my son, the best gift God could have ever given to me.

 

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

