The Idaho Writer’s League

May 19, 2012 at 2:53 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Last night I attended a meeting for the Idaho Writer’s League.

We had a guest speaker that is writing his new book. He talked about popcorn stories. Everyone has a story that stands out in your life. I was inspired to write my popcorn story and submit it to the author for consideration for his book. I have been a busy as a bee between working full-time and taking care of my mom after work and writing. I have always enjoyed writing. it has been my escape from the pressures of life. I like being able to look back on a special memory and then create a story behind the event. I am blessed to be able to get my stories published by our local paper.

I had a peaceful morning out on my back porch. I was having a cup of coffee after eating breakfast in my Victorian dinning room. I sat outside enjoying the breeze, the birds were singing, I heard the occasional dog bark a few times. I love my neighborhood. it is so quiet most of the time.  My Assistant Ryan came over and we worked on the some notes for my new story. I am pleased at how the meeting went. We got some things accomplished on the beautiful sunny day.

I do not really talk about my journey as a widow because  my life was largely focused on my being a single parent. It was difficult time to adjust not only loosing your best friend and husband, but I had to take over the role of Mom and dad both. I struggled for a long time trying to raise my very strong-willed son. Jerry struggled with his disease for twenty years. I remember Jerry would be sick and Levi would have the croup at the same time. I would care for both of them and work, hold it all together for all of us. I found strength in my faith. I always keep moving forward in the good things God has for my life.  This way I am so busy, I do not have the time to look back. Some days are still hard not having my son here anymore, but I know I will be okay. I just remember to keep getting up in the morning and face the day with a fresh cup of coffee and worship in my heart and know the God who created the Universe, smile upon my life. it can’t get any better than that.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

