Happy Father’s Day

June 17, 2012 at 5:11 pm (Uncategorized)

 

Yesterday I went on a much-needed drive.

I found myself winding around some quiet tree-lined roads on my adventure. It had been awhile since I had the opportunity to admire the beauty around me. I prayed that no critters would dart out into my path. I ended up on the back side of Hayden Lake. as I drove, I could hear the birds singing, and see the beautiful lake itself. It was fun seeing the homeowners sitting on the deck talking. There are some beautiful homes to admire also. I did not realize how much I had been working until I filled up my car,drove around and looked at a couple of model homes for fun and then escaped to the lake view. I do not think one knows how tired we are from to many hours spent at work . I plan on a couple more adventures this summer. it has too long since I had been able to take some time for myself and just take off for a couple of hours.

I would like to wish all the father’s a Happy father’s day today. Even though my dad is no longer with us, I remember the fun my twin brother and I had growing up. One year for Christmas, one of my brother’s gifts was a train set. Dad and Jeff set up the train on a piece of plywood. I do not know who had more fun that morning dad or my brother. Another gift my brother received was a dump truck. I have a picture of my dad and brother looking at the dump truck I think to make sure it would work.(We were two years old)

I also remember the family would just take off for the afternoon and go for go for a drive somewhere. I think years later, this is where I get my love to just go for an afternoon drive around a lake. At christmas the family would go to my uncle’s house for the evening so the neighbor’s could play santa for my parents.I can remember how surprised my brother and I was when we came home to find a not so empty tree anymore. While driving back home on Christmas eve, dad always went and looked at lights. Today, when schedules allow, my friends and I go to Starbuck’s and then go look at Christmas lights.See what you started dad? 

My dad loved his grandchildren. I was a young widowed mother taking care my young son. Sometimes my parents would just stay home and camp out in the motor home if my dad was not feeling well.Other times, they loved to get up early in the morning and go fishing or go on a spur of the moment trip somewhere.I can remember my dad making a thermos of coffee for the wee hours of the morning road trip. On the weekends since I usually worked, Levi would join my parents on a camping trip somewhere for a couple of days. I have the greatest picture of my dad and Levi chopping wood together for the camp fire that evening. My son was fortunate to be able to go places and keep busy in the summer until my dad was too sick to go to be able to go anymore.

I am currently working on a story about why I decided to write my book. I am submitting the story to CNN for consideration for their website. I am including the video, audio and book signing photos I have. I am excited to be even considered for a story on the website.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

