A new purpose in my life

July 17, 2012 at 8:04 pm (Uncategorized)

                    

                                                             

                                         

 

 

By Julie DeGon

     Five years ago this month, July 2007, my son Levi set off with some friends to float the river. By that evening, both our lives had changed forever…

            Levi was driving home that night and was involved in a tragic car accident. There are no words to express the depth of grief I felt and have endured since then when I received a call from the local sheriff that night. I am forever thankful my neighbors were home and provided me with the support I needed in that moment and the days to come. Arriving at the hospital I found my son, my Levi, on life support. Five days and countless hours of prayer later Levi was removed from life support. I wondered how I could survive such a loss.

            I had raised my son as a single parent from the time he was four after his father, my husband, passed away from complications from his diabetes. Suddenly I was left with the responsibilities of mother, father and sole provider for our family of two. Single parenthood presented many hardships and difficulties but Levi and I survived them all. I was and am proud of the fine young man Levi had become. It is hard to believe it has been five years since his passing. My mind often drifts to imagining the man he would be today – would he be married? Would he have children? Would he still live in the area? Would he still be driving his first love? Would he have his own business? In watching my friends with their grandchildren, I am reminded that Levi himself was a miracle child. The doctors gave my husband and I a 10% chance of ever conceiving, but god had other plans and gifted us with the most precious gift of all, Levi. The everyday memories are the ones I cherish the most – his laughter, his mischievous smile, his generous spirit, his appetite for life itself.

            Every day brings more healing. The loss of my son has changed my life but I have come to realize that God has a purpose for me. I look forward to exploring that purpose everyday. I have kept writing as a way to keep his memory alive and as I write I find myself remembering things I had long forgotten. Some memories have been easy to write, others more difficult. My first book, “Healing in The Storms” has given me a new sense of purpose, a way to remember the good, and move forward to the future. I am most grateful for my readers, those who have come forward to share with me how my story has touched them, helped them, and healed them in their own journey of loss and remembrance. I am a blessed woman.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

