It’s A Great day Indeed!

August 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm (Uncategorized)

I woke up this morning at 7:00 a.m.

Last night, the air was much cooler than it has been in the last couple nights. We had a couple of thunder and lightning storms with some rain the last couple nights as well. I like this time of the year. Your lawn starts to come back greener, the water bill goes down, the flowers actually bloom,and you can still enjoy some time out on the lake. It is hard to believe September is almost here. I remember when school was just letting out. It is true, the older you get, the faster time flies.

I was blessed to be able to take care of three young ladies and gentlemen yesterday morning. while there, the kids and I talked about going thrift store shopping. we decided to go to the local mall instead. The kids mother came along also to get some last-minute school shopping done also. I had so much fun being around the kids, their mom, and looking through all the stores. it has been a few years since I took my son Levi school shopping. My son and I would to spend the day at the mall. The family fun day brought back some good memories for me.

When my son was 15 years old, Levi and his friend painted his bedroom. Levi thought the color he had chosen was olive. The color was the most hideous green you had ever seen in your life! When I returned home from work that evening, I saw his handy work. i told Levi,’how could I get mad when you spent your own money on the paint, plus YOU are the one who has to live with the color’.I seem to remember Levi begging me to buy him a nice beige paint to repaint his bedroom the next year. I told my son ‘ when you earn the money, you can buy the can of paint.’ The room was repainted five years later after Levi had moved out of the house, and died in a tragic car accident. After Levi moved out to help take care of his grandma after his grandpa died, i turned his bedroom into my dressing room. No, I do not have a room like Oprah’s closet. Some have asked me that question. I do not have extravagant taste.I wanted a quiet room with a peaceful color on the walls to get dressed in.

Levi was too cute. Because of the color on the wall, and mom would not repaint it for him, he made the decor military. It looked pretty cool I must say. he had netting on the ceiling, and military pictures on his wall. Levi put his bed in the closet. He built a bench to widen the twin size bed into a full-sized bed. His grandma bought Levi a camouflage bed spread for his room.I know my son had many happy days in his room playing his computer games and sneaking in a pizza delivery at 2a.m.? Sometimes, I miss those days even though it was hard being a single parent to a teenager. It is hard to beleive my son is 25 years old now even if he is in Heaven. I am blessed to have so many good memories of raising Levi and I am proud of the fine young man Levi had become.

 

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

