Have a happy And safe Holiday

September 2, 2012 at 8:49 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

It is hard to believe that tomorrow is Labor day!

Where has the summer gone? I can remember it was almost yesterday, when the kids were letting out of school for the summer vacation. Now, they are heading back already. I still get a big kick out of shopping around school time. I love to hear the parents interact with the children because not so long ago, I was there also. Levi was easy to buy for. My son  knew there were only him and I in the household since his dad died,and I did not have the money for the brand names in clothes and shoes, so he didn’t ask me to buy them. His school supplies cost enough as it was.

I have a fond memory of when my mom, my son and I spent the day together. I remember we went for a drive and had lunch and then we went shopping. I found Levi two tee-shirts I thought he might like. Levi found two pair of jeans he did like. Both outfits cost me a total of $17.00. As we were leaving the store, my son came beside me and commented ” can we go to Wal-Mart next after we drop Grandma off home and do some more shopping?’ We never made it back to Wal-Mart. the last photo I had taken of my son was in front of his beloved car. he was wearing the jeans I had bought for him a couple of weeks before. My son died in a car accident a few weeks later.I treasure every memory I have been given.

Tomorrow is Labor Day. I give a big thank you to the men and woman of the Armed Forces who have served our country to give me the freedoms I can enjoy. My brother was a Marine. I am very proud of the man he became. I do not get to see much of my brother. Like so many of us, we are scattered across the country.

Tomorrow, my mom’s neighbors are having a BBQ. We talked my mom into going. My mom has had a hard time since my dad and my son has passed away.I am glad the neighbors have adopted my mom and I as an extended family. They get her mail for her and visit with her when I am unable to due to working.The neighbors were a lot of help when my dad progressed in his illness. I can remember when my dad could still participate in outings, both families would go to a nearby lake and go boating or fishing. In the winter, Darren across the street had an ATV. We would either go sledding behind his ATV or behind my dads jeep. I sometimes miss the old neighborhood. The families moved and the kids grew up as they will do. Mom lives in a nice neighborhood still, just quieter. The house is quieter because Levi isn’t playing one of his computer games and kids calling until 12 o’clock anymore. Miss those days…..

everyone have a happy and safe Holiday. Some parents will cry the first day they drop their child off to school, the others come to my house for coffee!

God richly bless every one of my readers.

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

