Empty Nest Syndrom?

September 10, 2012 at 9:30 pm (Uncategorized)

 

I have just finished reading an interesting article.

The article told about the upside to the Empty Nester. I agree on most of the writer’s view point.There are so many parents that  see the child leaving the nest as a depressing thought. I can think of many upsides to being an EN. You can get a good night sleep without the pizza delivery at 3 a.m. when you need to rise and shine a 6 a.m. to go to work; No late fees at the video store;You can now rent a video at the video store; The water bill went down the very same month my son moved out. How about that!; You have more cash in your wallet; More food in the fridge;You can take a very long shower hot with no one to bang on the door; You still have hot water to take the shower!;I must confess. I counted the days until  Levi moved out.  I have always said ‘the ages between 12-15 are a blurr.Then the big day arrives. Some parents are heart-broken. I sat in the dark on Halloween, drinking a cup of coffee and said yahoo! (I love you Levi,but it was time for you to leave.) Then you become an EN. You have the time to get to all the projects you as a parent had put off because the kids took up all your time.  You can learn how to garden and see if it will grow. No matter what I try, I do not have a green thumb. my plants turn dead and die. I really try to have a nice yard, but some of my yard will not cooperate with me; You can join a fitness club; So many parents don’t want to downsize when the kids leave. I turned Levi’s room into my dressing room. I did not have to worry about him moving back in with me, I couldn’t even get him back here for a meal. I had to go to my neighbor’s house or my mom’ s house to see my son. No joke. I had always dreamed of when my son moved out, my husband and I would fix dinner, Levi would come over and we would talk around the table. My life took another direction.
 
I did not have to joy of being able to share the responsiblity with Levis father. My husband, Levi’s dad died when Levi was four years old. I was suddenly a single parent and wondered how on earth I was going to get through this. Levi and I had many hardships and difficulties, but we survived them all.  I raised Levi to be a man of his word. I told Levi it is a respected virtue. This was a hard lesson for my son to learn. If Levi told his grandpa he would go fishing with him, Levi could not go for a bike ride with his friend instead. I am very proud of the fine young man Levi had become.

Some parents look at The Empty Nest as a syndrome like it is out of a horror movie or something. really? I look at this as a new life! I had so many circumstances to over come. The death of my husband from his disease, becoming a family of two, learning to live with one income, feeding the bottomless pit, the ear drum breaking years(the sad choice of music), then at 19, Levi moved out . I had to realize if I wanted to see my son anymore, I had better find out who he was visiting. Some of you laugh,I can remember Levi driving by the house. I just said to myself’ ‘ hi Levi, goodbye Levi.’ The holidays take on new meaning as well. Sometimes your child may stay around for the holiday meal. Sometimes, they spend the day with friends.( and I took the day off for this?) parenting is one of the most rewarding, frustrating, exhausting, happy, worrying, strengthening times of your life. Don’t miss a minute of it.

I have some great family and friends who have helped me through the tough times in my life. I am grateful that I can count of them. I also have two special young adults in my life. they both call me mom. Levi grew up with them. This thing called parenthood has to come to an end sometime. it is hard to let them go, but we must. And when they come back home to live, rejoice again and again and again.(Oh I guess it depends on how many times they return). I just know I would not trade my life for anything. Even though I have survived some hardships, God is good all the time, and he will walk me through this thing called The Empty Nest life! Blessings.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

