A Mini Getaway

September 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

It is amazing what a couple of hours can do for the soul.

My work week plans were cancelled. I work  in private Home Health.  I decided on a mini getaway with my neighbor. We went to a local coffee drive thru, and  we set off for an adventure. Ashley and I wondered if Carver Farms were open for pumpkin season yet. We drove by to check it out. Then, it was off to beautiful Hauser Lake. The lake was quiet, serene, and we also watched a sailboat floating along the lake. Ashley and I put our feet in the chilly water;It felt good to be out far enough away from reality and be able to enjoy the beautiful summer day. The sounds on the lake are awesome. Loons, quail calling to their young, ducks quaking.

The lake brings back fond memories of family and friends camping at the lake. My dad would bring his boat for fishing and boat rides afterwards. There were some good fishing in this lake. My parents and friends would stay and camp for the week. I enjoyed coming out after work for a visit while my son stayed and camped. This was a nice mini-vacation from single parenthood. When Levi returned, I could re focus my attention on being a good parent.

Now I am back home to reality. I can focus on my writing, and plan my next mini-getaway. We are fortunate in the North west, to have many lakes and less traveled(well maybe by me anyway) roads in which to explore. I am looking forward some fall drives this year. I love the crisp air in the mornings, the coffee tastes better when it is chilly outside, the changing colors of the leaves.
I have two great young adults in my life that go with me. After the death of my son Levi,my life was forever changed in a moment. Ryan and Ashley who live next door  starting calling me mom.Their kindness has helped me through my grief. I don’t think they will ever know how much it has meant to me to be called mom again. I love to take off for the afternoon and go explore what this area has to offer. Ryan and Ashley love to go on day trips with me. I feel blessed to have them in my life.

1 Comment

  1. Ryan Moore said,

    We love you so much!! We love looking back on all the memories and pictures we have shared and smiling. It means the world to us that you look at us like your children.

    Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

