When Life Hands You Lemons…

October 4, 2012 at 6:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

People have often commented to me

I don’t know how you have survived the loss of Levi, I can’t even imagine being you.”. I can remember responding to the question with”I can’t imagine being me either”. Nothing could have prepared me for the night my life changed forever again. I raised my young son alone after my husband, Levi’s dad died from complications from diabetes. Levi and I survived the challenges from his childhood through his teens no easy feat. Levi moved out at 19 to help his grandmother after his grandpa died. I was now an empty nester. I had new freedom,I didn’t have to rush home to check on Levi, no pizza delivery at 3 a.m. (when you need to be bight eyed at 6 a.m.) My life was different in many ways. I realized I have successfully raised Levi into young adulthood.  I kept busy working,and writing.

Nine months after Levi moved out,he set out with some friends to float the river on sunny sunday morning in July 2007 and by that night,he died in a car accident. My life had changed again forever. There are no words to express the depth of grief I felt that night. I am grateful I had the loving support of my neighbors who took me to the hospital that night and stayed with me through the night. It has been five years now since I said goodbye to the best gift God could have given me. Walking through my hardships in my life, knowing God’s hand has been working in my behalf, has helped me to heal more everyday and accept the deaths of my husband Jerry and my son Levi. God helped me realize the deaths of my husband and son did not mean the death of me. I keep moving forward in  the good things God still has for my life.My life can only get better. My attitude of gratitude towards life has been a long journey of hope, healing and acceptance.Life is good indeed!

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

