I Wish I Were…

November 1, 2012 at 6:06 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

 

 

I wish I were touring The Queen Mary again.

 

While attending college, I remember planning an outing with my two good friends. We were trying to decide where to go for the day. We really didn’t want to go to an amusement park or the beach . My boyfriend at the time and I had already toured The Queen Mary  a couple of times . We told Robin about our great adventure we had touring the ship. I remember Robin asking if we wanted to take the tour again. Jay and I wanted Robin to see this massive ship in person,she would not believe her eyes. Jay played hooky from work,while Robin and I ditched our next day college classes. We set out early the next morning; Robin made biscuit cinnamon rolls to take along.  My friends and I had lively conversation on the way to our destination. Then we saw the ship. Robin marveled at the Queen Mary’s size. We waited in line for the tour to begin.The funny thing was, Jay and I had already tour the ship few times before.The tour guide recognized us and allowed us to go on a self-guided tour. (Robin was impressed). Walking down the  guest room halls my friend’s and I remarked about the elegant craftsmanship of elegant wood carvings. Robin and I tried to imagine spending a day out to sea as ladies of leisure traveling abroad. We envisioned ourselves eating a meal in the dinning room, or shopping the quaint shops in the ship’s lobby. Maybe  after dinner, taking a stroll on the deck. Such a fun imagination we had.The reality of eating lunch in the restaurant not the elegant dinning room, couldn’t damper our spirit of fun we had that day. All good things must come to an end. We eventually had to go home and prepare for college classes or work the next day.

This morning while deciding on a story, I remembered touring The Queen Mary with my friends. Over the years, my friend robin and I would remissness about our adventure. I had just watched a program on TV about the ship supposedly being haunted. We didn’t see any ghosts,but we could sense something of a supernatural presence  in the ship. I have heard the swimming pool area was said to be haunted. We couldn’t tour the bottom decks. Work was being done in various part of the ship.My good friends and I toured this magnificent ocean liner thirty years ago. Our lives took separate paths. Sometimes it is fun to reflect on fond memories in our lives. What a good idea my friend’s and I had one sunny day way back then. Life is good indeed!

 

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

