Left Overs And Black Friday

November 24, 2012 at 5:44 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

The day after Thanksgiving,

we try to find new ways to enjoy the bird. Food Network has many suggestions to make the left overs not only go further (really?) but find creative ways to spice up the turkey. I am happy with turkey sandwiches one more day, then I move on to mexican food.

As far as black friday goes, I am a party pooper. I really don’t have anyone to shop for anymore since my dad, husband and son have all passed away. I decorate my mom’s house and make sure she has a nice Christmas.  Sometimes we have to make new traditions when our family dynamics change.In honor of my son, I buy gifts for the toys for tots program. I also buy one gift for a young adult that I know Levi would have enjoyed. I have so many great christmas memories of celebrating the holiday with my son. I remember the Christmas day sledding parties. My dad pulled the family around his neighborhood with his 1946 Willie’s jeep. The house full of company my mom hosted for dinner and great conversation. Uncle Howie always brought a bottle of home-made wine.

My life changed and my household is now empty of loud music, pizza delivery at 3 in the morning, cell phone calls all night, great debates (laughing) and the memory of my first ride in Levi’s car. I am blessed I have cherished memories of a life as a wife and mother in a house full of life and love I have shared. We never know where our life will take us, but I can be assured, wherever my life may take me, I know God is right here walking beside me, strengthening me, encouraging me, He has His best in mind for me.

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

