It’s Monday Again

February 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

 

 

SUNP0113

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started my morning off early taking my mom to get her blood workup then we went out to breakfast. I came home to write a quick blog post, then off again with a dear friend for lunch and a short drive around the area. I love to drive around one our local lakes and enjoy the snowy scenery. 

I have been touched by the response to my recent excerpt from my first book.  When I cashed a check this morning, one of the bank rep. stopped me and told me how much she enjoyed reading my post.When I started keeping a journal years ago, I would not have thought I would have a blog or be a published author. As I keep writing, I am remembering things I have long forgotten. Some stories are easy to write and others are more painful. When I drive by my son’s old grade school, I can imagine waving to him on the playground,or having lunch at his school. I remember going on motorcycle rides with my husband or playing with Levi at the park. I have so many treasured memories of a husband and a son I love and miss dearly.

Sometimes I am asked how could I keep moving forward in my life and have my positive attitude. I realized the deaths of both my husband and my son did not mean the death of me as well. I learned how to let go of the dreams I held for grandchildren. Growing old with my husband. looking forward to retirement one day. I had to learn how to live again no easy feat. My life had been centered around being Levi’s mom for many years. When I write a story, it helps me to remember  life is good no matter what your circumstance. I could have become bitter and angry but what would this have accomplished? I turned Levi’s old room into my dressing room after he moved out. I love to get dressed in the morning and put on my pajamas at night. I have found this is a great way to start my day. 

Hug your children extra tight tonight, ask  them about their day and tell them about your day today. I know the days are long, the hours at work are long, I had to remember there was a young man at the end of the day who was glad to see his mom. I am proud of not only of the fine young man Levi had become but also God chose me to be his mom even if for a little while. Happy Monday.

3 Comments

  1. wendymc12 said,

    I read a few of your posts. Honestly, I had a hard time getting through some of the posts. I can’t imagine the pain you have been through. It just broke me up to read what you have endured. By sharing your story I believe you will be helping many people who have had to face the loss of their loved ones. I wish you continued strength, peace and happiness for your life. By the way, I think it’s fantastic that you wrote a book about your experience. 🙂

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Thank you Wendy for taking an interest in my blog. Sometimes the stories are easy to write others more painful.My life was forever changed, but I have so many wonderful memories I can share about how I have kept moving forward instead of becoming a bitter and angry person. My life is not easy, I see the families and sometimes long to be a mom and wife again. I am blessed to have been the mother of the fine young man Levi had become. Thank you for following some of my posts.

      Like

  2. Lorraine A. Jones said,

    And what a wonderful mom /mum you are! A very brave and thoughtful person, here to be a teacher to us all, you may like to read ‘So That is How ‘it’ Happens A Brick on my path – ‘Stan’ is another great teacher who has’ had to ‘let go of’ a lot in his life, just recently his mother pass over too. I have been honoured to know him. My book was written to give people resources to help them on their way in life, you will see resources on my website mentioned on my blog http://howtocareforinfo.blogspot.co.uk, Please do read it too, Love from Lorraine A. Jones

    Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

