Becoming a Man Of His Word

March 4, 2013 at 11:28 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

 

 

 

scan0014

 

 

 

 

 

 
I taught my son Levi to be a man of his word. When my son was six years old he learned a valuable lesson. his grandpa invited him to go fishing with him, but Levi’s friend invited him to go to McDonald’s with him instead. I told Levi he would hurt his grandpa’s feelings if he chose to go with his friend instead. Levi had a good fishing trip with his grandpa. My son and his grandpa were best buddies. They had many more fishing trips, camping trips with grandma and grandpa going to the hot springs in Montana. I really appreciated the break when my son could go on a fun adventure with his two favorite people in his life. When Levi became a teen, he helped his grandma with his grandpa when he became terminally ill.

 

I became a single parent when my husband, Levi’s father died from complications from his diabetes.  I was given the awesome responsibility to raise my young son alone. I became mother, father and sole provider for my family of two now. Single parenthood presented many challenges and difficulties. Levi and I survived them all. I raised Levi from childhood through his teens. Levi was quite the artist. I have many of his drawings in my bible and hanging in my bedroom wall. When his grandpa died, Levi drew an awesome picture as a tribute to his best friend. We don’t realize our words are heard and all the hard work we poured into their lives, comes back in blessing to us as parents. The one comment I will always treasure from my son is ‘you were always there for me and you never gave up on me thank you mom. I love you.’ I treasure these words more than ever now. My son was lost in a tragic car accident in July 2007. he was only 20.

Some people still ask me today if I get angry at God because I will never be a grandmother to Levi’s children or watch Levi get married.  The thought does cross my mind sometimes when I see grandparents taking their grandchildren to the park or walking the dog. But I am not angry at God,  feeling like He took this away from me. God has walked me through some of the darkest days of my life. I am thankful I was given priveledge to raise this fine young man.  I would not trade all the struggles and challenges I had to face as a single mother to my son. The greatest gift of all is be called mom or dad.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

