Putting Things in Perspective

April 2, 2013 at 11:25 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )

 

 

thumbnail

 

 

Lastweek, I was helping my

cousin and her husband with some cleaning as they are getting the house ready to put on the market. my aunt had sold her house and is moving in with my cousin and her husband. They have a beautiful log house on a hill on five acres. (I would love to set in the mornings and watch the deer eat while I had a cup of coffee). What I would not miss the is the continual up keep of the house.

While I was taking a break, my cousin’s husband and I began chatting…. He brought up an interesting point of view. R remarked that so many people wished they had done this or regretted they did not accomplish that. He said why can’t people just be satisfied with where they are today? I was thinking about what R had said and can relate to his comment. How many times have we caught ourselves wishing I would have or only if… would we really had been any happier than we are now?

Sometimes I find myself pondering how my life would have turned out had I not married my husband so many years ago. Had I decided to be career minded instead of choosing marriage and mother hood I would have missed out on some of the best and worst times of my life. My late husband had complications from diabetes; It was hard to watch his health decline. My husband died just 6 short years after we were married. I was left to raise my young son alone. Single parenthood presented many challenges and difficulties My son Levi and I survived them all. I raised him from childhood through his teens. I am proud of the fine young man Levi had become. I can truly say I have had my dreams fulfilled. I had always desired to be a wife and mother, even though my life had taken a different direction than I had planned. I never thought I would have lost both my husband and my beloved son. I am healing more everyday and have the love and support of family and friends. I would not trade the hardships and difficulties I endured in my life I am a stronger person for them.

The next time you find yourself playing the what if game, just remember how much you have to be thankful for. You may not have the nicest house on the block, drive the sportest car or have the grand vacations every year, but I bet you have so much you can say thank you to God for and I am living my dreams. Sometimes all we need is a praise adjustment.

I am blessed to have so many wonderful memories of both my husband and son to write about. As I keep writing I am remembering things I have long forgotten. I write to keep their memories alive. I started out my writing career journaling- I kept a journal writing down everything that transpired to bring me peace and strength. I refer to my journal to bring inspiration to my stories I share. This has been a long painful journey I have been on, but I would not trade any experience for anything. I am happy  where I am today. Are you?

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

