Living Everyday With A Thankful Heart

June 5, 2013 at 3:35 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

Levi Degon0011

 

 

This is a picture taken of both my late husband and my son. Daddy and son were busy cleaning up the lawn for me. It looked pretty nice when they were done. I often think back on some of the best times I had as a wife and mother. Sometimes our lives take a different direction than we had planned. I thought my husband and I  would grow old together, we envisioned a life retired, proud grand parents to our son Levi’s children. I could have become bitter and angry at the loss, but anger does not solve a problem. I was given 6 years married to the love of my life; I was also given the awesome responsibility to raise my young son after my husband died from his disease. i could have said ‘life is not fair’ and this would be a true statement, but I would not be the person I am today if it were not for my hardships in my life. 

I choose instead to live everyday with a thankful heart, my strong faith has kept me moving forward in the good things God still has for me. If we look around our great nation, it is easy to see how blessed you are. We all have a bad day we slept through our alarm, kids were late for school-it was a Saturday. We can easily reflect on the bad in our lives and miss out on the good times in our lives. There are so many who have lost everything in the recent tornadoes, the big fires burning out of control, so much devastation. It is easy to forget we have so much to be thankful for. 

I was blessed by God’s protection yesterday. I did not know my thermostat housing in my car had split and all my anti freeze and water leaked out of my car all at once. I pulled into my mom’s driveway and asked the neighbor to help me. He was kind enough to replace the part for me. There are so many little things in life to be thankful for. It is heartbreaking that so many families do not gather at the table for meals anymore,The lack of respect in the teens,violence at school, road rage, the list goes on. It is not easy having a thankful heart all the time, I long for the life I shared with my family. I often ponder where we would be today if they were still alive. Take the time to hear the bids singing in the morning,enjoy your first cup of  freshly brewed coffee, hug your kids extra close today we never know what today may bring. 

I am busy planting some more flowers in my son’s memorial garden. I love to watch the butterflies flutter around , the birds playing in the bird bath, listening to the chirping of all the birds in the back yard. It does not take much to make me happy I have been told more than once. I laugh at the thought because I could have become very bitter very easily. Live is something to savor, to enjoy the beauty of each new day and the happiness it brings.  I wish you a beautiful summer filled with laughter, family,dinner parties on the lawn, football games, and lasting memories a summer can bring. Life is good indeed!

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

