Happy Father’s Day

June 16, 2013 at 1:56 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

 

 

 

I would like to wish all the father’s

a happy father’s day tomorrow. The lawn parties, playing football with the grandkids, good food and even better company. I hope your day is filled with laughter, good memories of father’s day pasts, holding your brand new grand baby for the first time, make it a special memory making time.

I remember this photo of my dad and my son with fondness. My son Levi was the first-born grandchild. My parents were affectionately called ‘Grandma and grandpa John’.  They took my son on many fishing trips, camping trips in the motor home and long weekends spent at the hot springs in Montana. grandpa John would help my son split the nights firewood when family and friends gather around the campfire. I am thankful Levi was given the opportunity to spend summers with his grandparents. I became a young widow after my husband,Levi’s father died from complications of his disease. I had many hardships and difficulties trying to raise my young son alone. I am thankful I could have a weekend to myself while the rest of the family went on vacation.

When my dad became to ill to travel anymore, Levi would suggest they just camp out in the motor home in the driveway. Grandpa and Levi would BBQ the dinner and join grandma to eat it in the motor home-They always found a way to have fun and make lasting memories.

They hosted many gatherings in their home for family and friends. When I was a girl, my parents hosted opening day hunting parties, family would gather to go horse back riding on our ranch. When we moved to Idaho, my family would host sledding parties. My dad would pull us around the neighborhood in his 1946 Willie’s jeep. Grandma John would have hot cocoa waiting for us when we needed to thaw out.

I miss my dad. He passed away in 2002 from his disease. Grandpa John had many friends and family who loved him and enjoyed a glass of wine with him in the afternoons. scan0014

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

