July 23, 2013 at 3:17 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

cap12_copyWe all have played the competition game.

It may start as a healthy competition keeping the lawn green, or the becoming rivals at the flag football game-and you are on the same team. The parents start a fight over the referees call, the sister that has to keep up with brother and get the better grades. If we are not careful, we find ourselves unintentionally hurting our neighbors or friends feelings because  they did not measure up to our expectations. The TV commercials do not help either. Two grown men riding their lawn mowers seeing who can be done first. really? The big car sales event and everyone wants the same car.

Last weekend I hosted a lady in my home for a conference. I have never met her and was intimidated to where I almost killed myself doing all the projects I have put off say for the last ten years. The day before she arrived, I had a migraine. I had to work the evening shift as well. I could not believe I let myself become this stressed over a guest. I met the lady, turns out she owns a Victorian home in Oregon. I have the Victorian charm in my ranch style home. We both had a wonderful time talking over decorating ideas and food.  I think I became intimidated because the conference was held at a beautiful estate and I live in an older home. My guest did not care about what projects were not finished, but I opened my home to her because she could not afford a hotel. what a beautiful,gracious lady she is. I learned a good lesson for God this past weekend. It does not matter where we live, we are loved, accepted, wanted and adored by God almighty.

I do not have to worry about the lawn competition. My neighbor and I share a healthy brown/green colored lawn. We both water and mow it is what it is we both joke.We put up our new mail boxes. We took the upgraded one back and opted for a plainer mailbox. We joked the fancy one did not fit in with our brown lawn. We laughed at the thought of people driving by and thinking nice mailbox now if you water your lawn once in a while. best laid plans. Fall clean-up is just around the corner…..

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

