Publishing Your First Book

October 18, 2013 at 9:42 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

coffeshop7

Three years ago I had my first book published.

 It has been san amazing adventure from the concept of my book, writing the book, and finally seeing it published. The first time you see your first box of books on your doorstep is exciting. The realization sets in-you are an author. Deciding to write my manuscript took some time. It was not untill after the deaths of both my husband and my son did friends and family suggest I write my story. I am glad I listened  because God had blessed this project above my wildest dreams. When people ask me how many copies I have sold or how much money I have made so far, I tell that is not important to me. When I found out the Hospice staff had all read my book and recommend it to their clients, it doesn’t get any better than this. I did not write my first book to sell a million copies or get rich, I wanted to help families who have suffered some of the loss I had and encourage them through the stories that life does move forward and the pain will lessen. 

I have had friends tell me they thought they knew me. After reading the book they now tell me they know me on a deeper level. Some of the stories were easy to write, others more painful. I have been asked what was the hardest story to write? Writing about my son isn’t easy,  I write to help keep his memory alive. My life had changed in a moment, I was a wife and mother living in a lively house filled with friends and family.One day it all changed. Life keeps us moving forward not only in healing but in the good things God still has for us. I find it is the small things in life that are worthwhile. I take time to smell the roses in this hectic life we live. Life is good indeed!

1 Comment

  1. gina said,

    Good for you! That is how I try to live my life. It is the littlest things in life that bring me those mostjoy and happiness. I search for those 2 things daily and I Always find them in things like thesounds of the ocean, birds tweeting ir bthing in the gurld bath. The smell of flowers etc. God Bless you and Good for you for telling your story. I have slowly bn working on mine.

    Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

