More Than A Friend

March 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

 

images (10)

 

I became acquainted with our neighbor after my family moved
to Idaho. This dear lady was a
foster mother. I would help watch the children and care for her mother while
Kate attended her weekly bible study. When I told her I was engaged to be
married, she threw me my bridal shower.

When my husband and I married, we envisioned a life growing
old together, retirement one day, we imagined a life as proud grandparents to
our son Levi’s children. Jerry, my husband died 6 short years after we were
married due to complications from his diabetes. I had the awesome
responsibility of raising my young son alone. Levi and I endured many hardships
and difficulties, but we survived them all.

A couple weeks after my husband’s memorial, I couldn’t get
motivated to drive to the Funeral home to pick up Jerry’s ashes. I took Levi to
my parent’s house. I did not want to take Levi to the funeral Home. I stopped
by Kate’s house to ask if she would come with me. She told me “now I know why
all my plans were cancelled today. I would be glad to go with you Julie.” There
are no words to describe how much I appreciated my friend and her kindness in a
difficult time in my life. She not only drove me to pick up Jerry’s ashes, but
also took me to the cemetery. My grandmother is buries at the same cemetery; my
aunt planted a pine tree beside her head stone. I spread my husband’s ashes under
the pine tree. Kate and I said a prayer for Jerry, and then we came home.

When Kate and her husband moved away, we lost contact. I
will never forget the love she showed for others, her faithfulness, and wisdom
from above. Kate was more than a friend to many.

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

