Happy Birthday Dad

May 2, 2014 at 4:03 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

images (3)

Today would have been my dad’s, Grandpa John as he was affectionately called birthday. Dad was always tossing my twin brother and I around. One fond photo I have is mom and dad sitting holding my brother and I. dad looked like he was saying”what am I going to do with these twins?”

I remember living on a ranch as a child, mom and dad became rabbit leaders when my brother and I were in 4-H club.  Our living room was large enough to showcase a pool table. All the kids gathered around the pool table to learn how to show our rabbits when were getting ready for the fair. Dad helped the kids build rabbit feeders and nests for our bunnies.

I remember when the family moved to Idaho. Dad brought his prized ’46 Willie’s jeep in tow. Mom and dad hosted sledding parties in the winter. Family and friends were pulled by dad’s jeep. When we could not feel fingers or toes, then we went in for hot cocoa. After thawing out, we went back out for more snow fun. My dad loved his old jeep. You could see him tooling around the neighborhood grinning from ear to ear.

When I married and had our son , everyone started calling my dad Grandpa John. My mom was Grandma John. My son was dad’s fishing buddy. Dad took Levi fishing at nine months old. It was cute Levi sitting in his stroller, Grandpa helping him reel in his catch. Now, my dad and my son are fishing together in heaven. For all the cherished memories, all the sled rides, jeep rides, hunting trips, happy Birthday dad. 

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

