Single Parenting Isn’t For Wimps

May 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

images (7)

 

 

 

Ever felt like this mother tiger?

I think we all have at one time or another. What we don’t see in the picture, is the other cubs running for cover because they are next! Single parenting isn’t for wimps, it takes a strong, creative, often times humorous approach. Often times the significant other turned out being  not so significant or there is a divorce or death. I know from my experience, you are judged when people hear you are a single parent. There is an automatic assumption you are divorced-that was not true in my case.

My husband died six short years after we were married. He died from complications from his disease. I was left to raise my young son alone. I remember feeling so lost, I was now mother, father, and sole provider of my family of two. I was fortunate my husband and I shared the household duties together. He didn’t pay the bills and I care for the house sort of thing. We agreed early in our marriage we are a couple, and we take care of the house together. When our son turned three, he pushed his toy lawn mower a safe distance behind his dad’s, They both owned had all the proper lawn care equipment. Levi had his plastic rake,wheel barrow, hoe and shovel. One mother never know when the boys are going to plant a flower or two for you.

I have to be honest, my husband was not macho. Meaning he helped with the house work. I came home early from work one evening. My husband was busy vacuuming the house with our son right behind him with his toy vacuum. Levi was so cute trying  keep up with his dad. Then Levi put away his vacuum in the closet. Do I dare say, he owned his own broom and mop also? he did indeed. I have fond memories of when my household was alive. My life was forever changed when my husband suffered a fatal seizure. There are no words to describe the grief I felt that day. Single parenthood presented many challenges and difficulties, but Levi and I survived them all. I raised him from childhood through his teens-no easy feat. there were days I wanted to laugh,cry and string him up by his toes-Sometimes all on the same day. I would not trade the gift I had been given as a wife and mother even if for a little while.

My life was forever changed again in July 2007 when Levi set off with some friends to float the river. By that evening, Levi was involved in a fatal traffic accident. He was only 20. The night before the accident, Levi and I put gas in his new car. I am forever thankful for God’s wisdom to give my son gas money. We laughed and joked in the car. On the way home when Levi thanked me for the money, we said I love you, we had no idea these would be the last words spoken to each other.  I am so proud of the fine young man Levi had become. Single parenthood indeed is not for wimps. We don’t know what tomorrow may bring, but we can train our children up the way they should go today.

1 Comment

  1. gentlekindness said,

    It is very hard. I wish I felt more confident . Sometimes it feels like I am fighting the world to keep them safe and to protect my own mental state in the process.
    Annie

    Like

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

