Memories Can happen Anywhere

June 6, 2014 at 6:21 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

images (9)

 

 

I would like to dedicate this post to all the memory makers.

Memories can happen anywhere.  Making oatmeal cookies with your young children, going to the park to feed the ducks, a spur of the moment trip to the lake for a swim. We don’t seem to grab the camera enough these days. Video is easier I understand, but for so many of us, we just don’t remember. Family reunions come and go, but making a lasting memory , even the now famous  photograph of cousin Carl with the watermelon slice in his mouth. How does he do that?

Our kids grow up so fast it seems, yesterday they were in High School, now they have a family of their own. Where did the time go? If we are not careful, precious moments slip our minds. I remember when my son was in grade school.  The class went on a field trip to the Planetarium. We brought sack lunches to eat at the park afterwards. My son thanked me for coming because one other parent came to chaperon. So many parents missed out on a fun day. I would not have missed this opportunity to spend the day with my son and his class. They grow fast you know. One day you are holding them for the first time, then you are teaching them to ride a bike. Yikes. Time flies whether we like it or not. One day the kids will be young adults with their own agendas.

Summer is here again. The perfect opportunity is upon you to take one day trips to the beach, the forest, the water park and make lasting memories. I love the new term unplug and go outside. So many children seem like they are afraid of  ‘outside’. When I was a youngster, I was not allowed to stay inside and watch TV. I was encouraged to be outside getting filthy dirty. I grew up on a ranch, so we  had horses and sheep, chickens, a cow and goat and many, many rabbits to care for. My twin brother and I did not have the luxury of hanging out in the house. We learned responsibility, and appreciation ownership had. Besides a dead sheep will not sell well at the fair, nor do dead bunnies. It was hard work getting ready for the fair. Up at dawn running our sheep a mile morning and night. No one will buy a pudgy sheep at market. The rabbits had it made, they just had to sit there looking cute and fluffy. I would never particulate in the swine or cows class, I did not want to try to boss around a beast that was four times my size. With my luck my cow Brutus would have other ideas and go his way.

Let’s make lasting memories this summer. Get out the camera or video phone and snap or record away. Time does not stand still. We never know what tomorrow may bring. That spur of the moment trip you thought about may be the last time you see your cousin. We are so busy anymore. Raising our kids,working, getting our gardens ready. A memory takes just a moment to last a life time. I have lasting memories of my husband and son whom I love and dearly miss.

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

