Planting A Special Butterfly Garden

July 10, 2014 at 4:27 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

images (18)

 

I have been busy planting a very special garden.

I have a few butterflies that fly around looking for a place to to rest. They have to settle for lavender,but not anymore. I have been busy planting three butterfly gardens. I painted my son’s old truck tire sand box and planted butterfly weed, and some plants around two trees. The butterflies,humming birds and bees shall be busy buzzing soon. I enjoy sitting outside in the evening with a cold up of coffee listening to the birds chattering. Since my back yard gets full sun, drought tolerant plants interested me. I am becoming a reformed black thumb gardener so an easy care garden suits me. Plus I can write stories on the patio over looking my lightish-green lawn. We have poor soil here also. Ahh, home ownership!

I have one nice memorial garden for my son Levi who died in 2007. I thought it would be nice to plant in his old truck tire sand box some joe-pie weed, and spread some plants around two trees. That should give the butterflies somewhere to land. I am thankful to God for this inspirational idea. Low maintenance beautiful bushes that will last several years of enjoyment. A dear friend gave me a pine tree to plant for my son seven years ago. today this tree is 20 feet tall! It seemed only fitting to bring to life a simple yet elegant garden. This time of year can be difficult when dealing with the grief, but every year I get inspired to put another finishing touch in my home or yard. I can almost hear my son whisper in my ear” I am proud of you mom. Even if you only planted one flower this year, you keep moving forward in life and not being stagnant.” I think he would like to sit in the backyard and take in the beauty. Life can be hard,but God takes the edge of the pain I feel sometimes. I look forward to rest of summer with the birds,bees and butterflies investigating the yard.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

