Finding Happiness Again.

September 15, 2014 at 9:22 pm (Creative Non- Fiction) (, , , , )

scan0004

When I married my husband, we thought we would grow old together. we had dreams of buying our first house,starting a family, envisioned a life as proud grandparents to our son Levi’s children. We often talked about traveling after we retired someday. 

My husband died 6 short years after we married from complications from his diabetes. I found myself with the awesome responsibility of raising my young son alone. As a single parent, I had many hardships and difficulties, but Levi and I survived his childhood through his teens-no easy feat. I raise Levi to be a man  of his word. 

On a sunny morning July 2007, Levi set out with some friends to float the river,by that evening, my life was once again forever changed.

Levi died in a car accident. he was only 20. there are no words to encompass the depth of grief I felt. my healing continues daily and I have found a new purpose for my life.I have come to realize the deaths of both my husband and my son, did not mean my life had ended as well. God is a loving God who has taken good care of me these past seven years. I look forward to seeing what he still has in store for my life.

I could have become bitter and angry at God blaming Him I chose to trust Him. Today is a day of reflecting for me. I miss both my husband and my son dearly; I know I will see them again soon. where my house was once filled with laughter,rough housing, and motorcycle rides has been replaced with stories to help keep both their memories alive.

7 Comments

  1. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff said,

    This must have been so difficult to share. Thank you. You’ve reminded me of what’s important in life.

    Like

  2. Colorstorm said,

    You spoke of a huge gap- then u spoke of a large God. Hi is able
    May u find some great memories to strengthen you,

    Yes, we will see them again-
    God bless

    Like

  3. grannyK said,

    I know this pain all too well. I hope life is being kind to you.

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Thank you so much for your comment.Life is moving forward as I heal more everyday. Thank you for stopping by and please, visit again.

      Like

  4. mitzireinbold said,

    Blessings to a strong woman.

    Like

  5. Ms. Vee said,

    Blessings! God is good. You’re a strong woman. Keep writing and thanks for sharing your story, and visiting my blog.

    Like

  6. lbeth1950 said,

    I don’t know what to say, except, you must be moving in grace.

    Like

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

