A Man Of His Word

January 18, 2015 at 9:32 pm (COMFORT AND JOY, Creative Non- Fiction, Family stories, Journal Writing, memoir writing, memoirs, Middle age, Mothers, Single Parent, Survivor, Uncategorized, Writing) (, , , )

scan0014

 

 

I taught my son Levi to be a man of his word.

 

When my son was six years old he learned a valuable lesson.Levi was  invited  to go fishing with his grandpa. Levi’s friend also invited him to go to McDonald’s with him. Caught in a dilemma, Levi chose instead to go to lunch with his friend. I told him his choice would hurt his grandpa’s feelings,don’t go back on your word with your grandpa. They brought their catch home and enjoyed a fabulous fish dinner. The next afternoon, Levi and his friend went to McDonald’s for lunch. Sometimes it is hard to encourage your child to make the right decisions. I told him being a man of your word is a very respected virtue.

I became a single parent when my husband, Levi’s father died from complications from his diabetes.  I was given the tremendous responsibility to raise my young son alone. I became mother, father and sole provider for my family of two now. Single parenthood presented many challenges and difficulties. Levi and I survived them all I raised Levi from childhood through his tween years. I am proud of the fine young man Levi had become. In July 2007, Levi was killed in a tragic car accident. He was only 20. My faith in God brought me through difficult times in parenting. I am blessed because I was given tremendous responsibility of raising my son like so many single parents. Life is good, no matter the circumstance.

 

3 Comments

  1. tussilaspring said,

    I’m so sorry for you loss! Thank you for liking my hearts, best regards from Tussila!

    Like

  2. kathleenduncan said,

    Thank you for sharing this. Yes, God is good.

    Like

  3. passion through poetry said,

    Your story is so touching, I am so sorry for your loss.

    Like

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

