‘Walking Out Of The Pit’

April 8, 2015 at 8:46 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Poetry, Single Parent) (, , )

images (6)

 

 

In honor of National poetry month, I have included a special poem I found after my son Levi died in a tragic car accident in 2007. I hope this poem blesses you as much as it still does me.

 

Walking out of the pit

I sit here in this lonely place.

Wondering where to go from here

I don’t like this place,

but I don’t know how to
get out of here.

I want to succeed, I want to try
and do better. I want to be happy.

I struggle to be all that god knows
I can become.

I am a success in God’s eyes;

But I look in my mom’s eyes too
I don’t want to disappoint her anymore.

She believes in me.

Mom supports me whether I
am good or I am bad.

She really cares about me.

Mom has been through so much
with me. I am glad she is my mother.

I hope that she knows that I love her.

Thank you for all your support, love
discipline and encouragement.
.By Levi DeGon
the way that she does; and
care for me.
But mom is always there for me,
no matter what.

By Levi DeGon

 

 

4 Comments

  1. jacquelinecaseypoetry said,

    You are a good daughter.

    Like

  2. booguloo said,

    Do you think you have a direct line to your son through his poem? I’ve lost two brothers, a sister and of course my mom and sometimes I forget what they look like and the sound of their voices. Pictures help.Thanks for sharing your son’s work and grieving, It’s helped me a lot with my coping.

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, I know how hard it is when we can not remember what our loved onesused to sound like. We will always have a piece of them in our live though our memories.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

