May 27, 2016 at 7:16 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Family stories, Memoir, Poetry, positive thinking, Uncategorized) (, , , , )

182654_528182843871255_785230554_n

 

Some weeks we wish for a week of Fridays don’t we?

Undependable co-workers, the unexpected bill, car repairs, inconsiderate drivers… the list goes on.

Some days I breathe a sigh of relief pulling into the driveway never to come out again. Nice plan though, life has a way of needing us. Bill paying, eating occasionally might require some cash flow. It feels like life is so busy anymore. Once a month, I try to get together with a girl friend. have a late lunch or early dinner at the golf course or out-door cafe people watching. Now with the weekly farmer’s markets starting, find time to enjoy an evening.

I have never understood the weed pulling as a way to relax; Instead of looking at my yard through a gardener’s eyes, I see a lot of WORK. My back yard is simple with trees, and a few vignettes for the birds benefit. I use succulents well… because they are harder to kill. (did I fail to mention that  I am becoming a reformed black thumb gardener)? I need simple plants that do not require so much care.My favorite area in the back yard is Levi’s tree. It is a 20 ft. pine tree planted in honor of my son Levi who died in a tragic car accident at the age of 20 in 2007.

I love the annual garden tours. Some are whimsical while others are breathtaking. Some homes, you follow paths to quaint little streams and smaller gardens while others you see deer grazing while touring. It is amazing to see how many recycled ways a tire can be used or your old high heels to make a statement. There are so many elaborate water features and fire pits being incorporated into the out-door spaces. There are not as many formal gardens on the tours now. It is a lovely way to spend Sunday afternoon and come away with a few ideas for your sanctuary.

With life’s hustle and bustle, I need to find ways to keep refreshed. I love writing, and I care for my aging mom plus work full-time in a group home for special needs. My life is full,busy and I am satisfied. I know my son smiles down on his mom from Heaven and says “I am so proud of you mom”. It is what keeps e going everyday. I have to learn to enjoy the simple things in life. Staycations are nice, but so is going for an afternoon drive with one of my dear friends and buying a coffee.

Nine years ago, a dear friend came over and helped me freshen up my bedroom. She owned a B&B in Ireland at the time. I had not touched my room after the death of my husband in 1990. It was time. She created a beautiful B&B inspired bedroom to relax in. After my son moved (out before his death,) we repurposed his old bedroom into my dressing room-fresh coat of paint,a new rose inspired bed spread made the room inviting again. I love to get dressed in the morning and put on PJs at night.

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

