My Empty Nest Life

October 7, 2016 at 3:49 am (Creative Non- Fiction, Life beyond parenting, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking, Single Parent) (, , , )

images (5)

 

I love this illustration of how some parents really feel about the child leaving the nest.

No I did not throw a tantrum , blocking the door when my son Levi moved out. It was more like we were both ready for him to move forward in  his life. My son moved in to help his Grandma when his beloved Grandpa passed away. My fondest memory of this time was Levi’s grandma locked the doors at 10:00 p.m. My mom would get a phone call from one of his friends telling her he is on his way please do not lock the door. She kept my son honest. I think my son had a good learning experience. Paying his bills on time, saving for a first apartment, helping his Grandma with chores. We never dreamed he would die in a tragic car accident at the age of 20.

My life has certainly changed the last several years I have come to terms with the loss of my son Levi. In so many way my life was forever changed in a moment; My son was now gone, I was helping my mom cope with another loss, working full-time and trying to stay out of depressions front door. I wake up every morning knowing my son is cheering me on in Heaven. I work at my dream job,I still live in the house my late husband and I bought together, and most of all I can appreciate life in all its beauty.

Muddling through my middle age life has been an adventure. I am known as the semi-reformed black thumb Gardner. The tree that has done the best in the back yard is the one planted in honor of my son. The tree stands 20 feet tall now. The rest of the yard-basic okay. If it ever stops raining,I can get the last mowing the season done. I have replaced my roof and tomorrow, yeah I have been fit into a schedule to replace my aging furnace.(If you have no heat when it is cold,it is nice to be fit in). I know they say things come in threes. I just hope they are wrong as I am running out of money. I have been told now I can stay here another thirty years. Good thing I like my house. I have no plans to move for one, I could not match my current house payment, I live by the Spokane river, and the neighborhood is great. Families walk the dog, ride their bikes,and take nature hikes the area. I live in an outdoor enthusiast’s paradise. So my middle age life is a good one. I do not complain about what I don;t have I cout the many blessing I do have. We all know life can be tough sometimes,but we all hang in there together.

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

