The Merry Mix-Up Day

October 17, 2016 at 5:51 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Life beyond parenting, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking, Single Parent) (, , , )

images (25)

 

Yesterday was just one of those days.

It all started last week,when my mom was planning a combined party for herself and a friend of ours. I was to buy the groceries the day before the party and go buy the pizza the next afternoon before guests were to arrive. (mom is getting forgetful). She assumed the party started at five pm Guests arrived at noon. I received a call from mom at 12:30 asking me if I had picked up the pizza yet as guests were waiting to eat. I worked the night before and I was not happy about being rushed out the door. I also told mom I was sick and would not as planned be cooking lunch for everyone. It was interesting when I went to order lunch-The guy making the pizzas was on the same wave length as I because he went at a snail’s pace  making four orders for customers complaining the whole time. I paid for pizza and delivered them to her kitchen counter. I felt bad I could not stay but(feeling sick and pizza do not mix).

When I got home I was a little angry at the mix up in plans. I watched some tv and went to bed early. When I got up this morning, I wanted to write a post about my merry mix up day yesterday. Sometimes plans don’t work out as planned as we all know. I need to take a breath and exhale and then look at a new perspective sometimes. The party guests and the combined birthday honorees had a fabulous time. they baked the pizzas and opened gifts and were blessed. I needed to be excluded from the festivities for the afternoon to refresh my tired body and attitude. I will admit it I had a rotten attitude being tired and feeling rushed by mom: things need done right now in her eyes(not my eyes though). I needed to finish my cup of coffee and wake up  before running out the door. plus I had cold medicine in me and needed time for it to wear off before driiving.  You can let the icident ruin your whole day or put on amber colored glasses. I chose to wear the colored glasses. Nothing is as bad as it seems wearing them;  you have time to realize it was just a 5 hour silly mix-up and let it go.

Today I feel better. I had a good night sleep which my body needed, and I can look back on yesterday and smile. I have to remember mom is getting more forgetful and I have to try and be patient with her. It is hard when I am the one taking care of her plus keeping my own house in order. With the love and support from God, I am doing well.  We are called the sandwich generation I laugh because I feel half of my bread is missing. Being a widow, Jerry should be sharing in the fun). I have learned you have to take a breath and have a day off from all obligationsonce a week: I also need to still feel like a daughter and not moms care giver. Mom doesn’t get out as much as she used to. I fight with her to get dressed everyday,take her shower and get back to the mom I once had a few years ago. Life has a new challenge for us everyday doesn’t it? It is easy to forget sometimes to see the beauty in each new day and rejoice what God has given to us.

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

