Merry Christmas

December 25, 2016 at 10:10 pm (Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking) (, , , , , )

 

Christmas relax after skiing in cabin in mountains with fireplace

Christmas relax after skiing in cabin in mountains with fireplace

I drove home this morning to snow gently falling. The snow-capped trees and mountains were beautiful. Not too many souls up this time of the morning to ruin a perfect moment. When the first snow hits, the brave ones who just happen to own four-wheel drive Dodge ram trucks zoom past you faster than the Fire Department going to a fire. The freeway is worse. You either get the drivers who are not sure of their driving ability and creep down the freeway and hold up traffic, or the big trucks going by you like a speeding bullet. The Police officers wait in the middle of town getting ready to call for a tow truck to pull the idiots out of the ditch or deal with the fender-benders of motorists driving to fast for conditions. Ahh, life in a small city.

I have lived in North Idaho for the past 35 years; I have watched my tiny town of 3,oo0 people with one blinking light in a four-way stop to 35,00 or so people. Many folks are moving to the rural towns to escape the madhouse crowds. (Those who live in a big City laugh because I talk about crowds) When I first moved to Post falls in 1981, I learned to drive in the snow for the first time.My dad towed the family around the neighborhood in his 1946 Willy’s jeep, folks were like family in the neighborhood. Now,most of the neighbors have moved and we are left with just a few families who more or less keep to themselves.

I went to my annual mandatory meeting at work Thursday afternoon. I thought it was funny to combine a meeting (never know what they are going to discuss) combined with a Christmas party(maybe to soften the blow?). We all had a good time at the party; Moms brought the kids who played elves to Santa Clause and passed out secrete santa gifts. We had plenty of food,fun,laughter and left feeling like part of a family again. I work in the health care field. I care for some amazing young adults in a total dependant care group home.  I am blessed getting to come to work every evening. When I first was married, I worked with adults with special needs on a janitorial crew. By far my favorite job I had ever had. When I went to work for my current employer, I was overjoyed to have some of my clients to work with again.

When my husband and I were first married,we had Christmas in our new trailer we bought for a song. We didn’t have much money, so family and friends gave us furniture and household items that believe it or not went quite well together. My husband and his brother would take off for the afternoon to buy my gift, Jerry had really good taste in my gifts. Living in a cold climate,he bought me the nicest sweat suit outfits. Our last christmas, Jerry didn’t live long enough for me to open my gifts. He told my mom he wanted me to keep warm. He bought me feeted pajamas,a couple of sweat suit outfits and an angel I put on my tv. I made the best of the holiday with my four-year old son Levi. We decorated our new house with the tree,and he was excited I bought him a tree of his own for his bedroom. Today is hard for me,I will soon be on my way to my mom’s house to make her a nice dinner,open gifts, and the off to work I go. I hope all has a wonderful christmas day filled with laughter, good food,awesome stories to tell at the table, and most of all last memories to remember for years to come.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

