Enjoying One day At A Time.

February 12, 2017 at 8:53 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Middle age, positive thinking, Uncategorized) (, , , , )

images (12)

 

I have heard it said when we lose a child or a spouse,we live the ‘new normal’.  True, my life was forever changed when I tragically lost both my husband and son,but through the grief and healing, I realized their deaths did not mean the death of me as well. I had to find ways to see the joy when the sun came up in the morning, appreciate the chirping of the birds instead of being jealous they were happy and I was not. I had to learn not to isolate myself; I had so many friends who would wonder where I was if I did not show up to church for monday night service, I was always being asked if I have eaten today, people at first keep their distance, being afraid to say the wrong thing to you, I have always knew what I had,when it was time, God helped me to let go.

I am enjoying my middle age life; My husband and I bought our forever home thirty years ago. Our neighborhood was a new sub division with only a few homes. We have made some lasting friendships.Jerry and I thought we would grow old together, we bought our forever home,now we looked forward to starting a family,dreamed of being proud grandparents to our son Levis children,imagined retiring someday. I love my neighborhood,when Jerry and I first moved here, across the street was a big empty field. We knew where the kids were (big kids included)- riding their motorcycles and bikes around the dirt track. Eventually homes were built there, so the kids rode the bikes down by the river nearby and built jumps pretending to compete in a dirt bike race. In the winter, the kids took turns sledding down the hill in front of my house. weekends were spent making a snow fort connecting mine and the neighbor’s yard. Levi and Ashley were busy all weekend, we had to practically drag them in for dinner and bed.

Now, the kids all grown and most of them have moved away, married with kids of their own. I still have some of the neighbors who welcomed my husband Jerry and I to our new house over 30 years ago. We often get together in the evening, talking about when we retire ,as we already survived being empty nesters.  I am buying a motor home and travel like Jerry and I talked and planned to do someday. I would like to take my time and see the Oregon Coast. Time has a way of flying by make the most of your child raising years,make lasting memories that carry on for the next generation of stories,take the time to tell your loved ones how much you love them and are glad they are part of your life.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

