Procrastination, Just A Matter Of Time

February 16, 2017 at 6:48 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking, Single Parent) (, , , , )

Two days ago I was getting ready to blog,when my mom called to ask me if I was going to ever(love that word) pick her up for her Doctor Appointment. I called the office to confirm only to find out she didn’t have one that morning. I called her back told her of my findings and set back to work with my blog post. By now, I was out of the mood for writing. So, I decided instead to run some errands thinking I would come back to writing later in the day. No dice. By now, I could not remember the awesome(over done) story I had in mind earlier in the day.

I write a story in my mind sometimes twenty times trying to get just the right wording,story line and the perfect post. One, I had to realize there is no perfect post. I write about what interests me, my middle age life without my husband and son, and moving forward though the pain. I think sometimes I have a hard time because I do not want to write a post that makes someone feel uncomfortable about my personal challenges,but I feel my story can benefit many families who have gone through similar circumstances. I remember a comment I read in my blog I hope did not shape how I do write. I was told my stories are too sad to read. I have read some other blogs about grief and healing, I understand the difficulty in moving forward. I write stories of muddling through my middle age. I am thriving not just surviving.

So I think procrastinating is part of writing. We want the perfect yet unrealistic story to post that we hope everyone who reads it will love. When I write, I remember events in my life that were long since forgotten.  I love it when I run into one of my son Levis friends today and we share a story I did not know about. I write often about hug your kids extra tight tonight,tell them you are proud of them and they can reach their goals if they try. We are not promised tomorrow. I am a blessed woman having experienced being a wife and mother even if for a little while. I live in a great neighborhood with good friends who share being empty nesters with me. I do live the good life.

My life is different from many others who are still happily(hopefully) married. I get together often with friends and take a scenic drive with a good girlfriend or being active in my church. I have been working on some home improvements the last couple years. I feel bad I do not have a horror story to share about home improvements gone wrong. Our house was move in ready; three bedrooms, freshly painted, new landscaping, my house is the only one with a porch. If you met the previous owner,you would understand he wanted his house to be different.Works for me. As I confess, I am on my way to becoming a reformed black thumb gardener.I have kept my trees alive in my back yard for twenty years. I tried dead heading my flowers, pruning them back in the Fall, I Do water. All the neighbors agree, our housing tract was probably built on a river bed. How else do you explain the Big rocks we keep finding when we mow every summer. I am almost temped to remove the grass in my back yard,let the rocks come up to the surface and the plant drought tolerant plants. I mean the way the rocks keep showing themselves,I not only will have all the free rocks I need for the project, no more watering or lawn care provider. Works for me.

2 Comments

  1. Ann Coleman said,

    I think you are right, procrastination is a huge part of writing. And I believe that you should write about whatever you want to write about, and not worry at all about it being “too negative!” Your story is yours to tell.

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Ann, I have read many blogs where the writer has writers block or just does not know what to write about today. in our busy lives,this is easy to achieve. I am glad you like and read my stories as i like reading your blog.

      Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

