This Empty Nest Life

February 23, 2017 at 3:01 am (Creative Non- Fiction, Leavinghome, Life beyond parenting, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking) (, , , , )

images-1

I have read some stories of parents count down the days when the kids are grown and gone. Being an empty nester is bitter-sweet for me. When my son Levi first moved out, I was confused. He moved alright, his clothes. He would come home just long enough to get something from My bedroom now. One evening, as Levi was about to leave, I told him ‘either totally move out with all your stuff,or you can pay rent on all your stuff instead’ You should have seen the look on his face. He could not believe he would actually take his prized things somewhere else and stash them. I had plans for his old bedroom and if he wanted to come stay the night(what?) he was more than welcome. That went over like a lead balloon. The price of growing up.

After I had my conversation with my son,I had paint samples dancing around in my head, a new bedroom arrangement,a nice place to drink my coffee. I turned my sons old bedroom into my dressing room. I love getting dressed in the morning and putting on pajamas at night. I did not know,how could I, That weekend, my son was lost to a tragic car accident. I took my time cleaning out his bedroom. gone were the importance of having ‘my space’. Everyone has a different story about being an empty nest parent. I love being in my sons bedroom looking at his life in pictures,remembering the time when I was listening to his stereo when he went to work.  I laugh now at him telling his mom “I don’t care if you listen to my stereo, just turn it off when you are done using it’. Busted! There is a big world out there waiting for us to enjoy in our second half in life. We are now caring for our aging parents,working,spending time with the grandkids if we have a few. Life is good, I intend to squeeze every second out of life I can.

3 Comments

  1. InspiredJourney said,

    As a newly ’emancipated’ empty nester to a new 18 year old, I wasn’t the average mom who has a hard time with empty nest looming. I actually looked forward to it, and had a similar moment with ‘Grem’, packing his things to move them.

    But for him, it was a defiant moment.

    He has since apologized. He was weeks away from jetting off on his gap year abroad, had some revelations and apologized for things said and done, citing he understood better and didn’t want to have any regrets.

    Reading Levi is no longer with us in body way tough. I thank you for sharing this, for your strength to carry on and give us parents, who have our children in body, the gift of perspective and inspiration to live in gratitude they are still with us.

    Continuing being very well Mama!

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Thank you for your kind words and support. I often write to enjoy every moment we can with our loved ones because we are not promised tomorrow with them. I am blessed I can share special stories of raising my son as a single parent. I am glad you and your son has a better relationship now. Thank you again for your awesome comments. they meant so much to me.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

Elena Xtina

Writing & Recipes

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Jbambs

Geography, Meteorology, Climatology, Education, Ancient History, as well as other strings to the bow. student - Geography degree.

