Another Snowy Day

February 26, 2017 at 9:37 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking, Single Parent) (, , , )

 

 

images

As I was preparing to run some errands for my mom this morning, I saw the sun shinning. I quickly took my shower,got dressed,ate a light breakfast intending to be out the door before the snow started. Too late. By the time I was ready to leave, the snow had begun to fall. It is hard to want to get out into the open road with all the monster trucks who think because they have four-wheel drive, they can go barreling past you like a gust of wind. Or the elderly drivers who can’t make up their minds which lane to be in, so they go really slow and almost cause an accident. My once small town has grown into a small city. You can tell the city is ever-growing by how many traffic lights are being put in.

Don’t get me wrong, I love living here. My family moved from california 36 years ago. I get to enjoy all four season sometimes on the same day. We have a joke, “if you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes.” I am sure the sun will come out in time for it to set again. Most of the Country has witnessed one of the most incredible winters in years. we have not had so much bitter cold temperatures followed by feet of snow in ten years. Folks around here would call it a normal winter. I usually love this time of year,watching the children sled down the side of a hill,watching ice skaters teaching kids how to ice skate at the local pond, sledders being pulled around the neighborhoods by a ATV. Brings back teenage memories of when I first moved here and my dad pulled family and friends around his neighborhood in his 1946 Willies Jeep. We didn’t have the traffic speeding by , so we could be pulled around the corner and almost be slammed into a parked car-dad was full of himself, but we kept going with him. today, the skiers are on cloud nine I bet,so are the snow boarders and inner tubes. A hill has been created for their enjoyment also.

I used to watch my young son and his best friend-she lived next door, spend all weekend building a snow fort that connected both our yard together. Levi did not go out to build a snowman no sir, he wanted something dramatic. He kept busy and I knew where he was until dark. Ashley and Levi came in at dark and had dinner then off to bed for another round of creative planning. I wish I would have had a video camera then to record the planning committee at work. When the snow was used up in his yard, Levi minus Ashley would then go over to his grandparents house and start in their yard. I think Levi was trying to figure out how to link both yards together so he could crawl the five miles both ways. I remember well the day I bought Levi his very own snow shovel. He put it in back seat of my car and it ended up at his grandpa’s house so they could shovel grandpa’s driveway. Little stinker.  As I am writing today, I am remembering memories I thought long forgotten. Levi was a character. He was never held down by a two foot snow drift, he would conquer the snowy hill with a sled in tow, sharing with the neighborhood kids. We didn’t have the traffic we have today speeding down the street,so the kids were safer ending in the middle of the street.

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

