My Bucket List Revisited

March 1, 2017 at 8:20 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking) (, , , , )

images (9)

 

Ever since the movie came out,

everyone had a bucket list of things to accomplish before they died. I read a post of someone asked “what is a bucket list anyway?” Some of the comments were just as entertaining. Some want to visit the Grand Canyon, or hike Mount Everest, some folks dream of Mexico after they retire. In the winter, many become snow babies,enjoying a warmer climate until well, it is warm again where they reside.  I understand wanting to get out of a snowy climate for the winter, but it is funny how many flock to a playground where so many are getting away from. We live within driving distance of two national forests where you can pick Huckleberries sometimes along side bears. Elk,deer, quails,wild turkeys are commonly seen. In Winter,you can still see deer feeding among the forests. I guess I am spoiled being able to see wild life in their habitat.

I have been a homebody for a few years now. I am caring for my aging mom, so getting away is more difficult now. I have several day trips I am planning this year. I would love to visit our local planetarium. When my son was in 5th grade,I went along as a chaperone with his class. I have two young adults living next door who do not know it,but I am going to drag them along with me. We have many Historic Manson’s I would like to also drag them along with me to see.  Look over the beautiful gardens then take a drive through the exclusive South Hill. I have not gone on the Gondola since my son was a youngster I have two unsuspecting next door neighbors I can kidnap for the day I am guessing. I would like to visit my best friend in Arizona soon; We went all through school together and just talking on the phone is not enough anymore. I plan on taking a couple of Lake tours this summer. I would like to ride on the boat my Pastor and her family built. A fond memory for me was when my late husband and I went out to dinner then a cruise of the Lake on my birthday one year. I do not need to go to any exotic locations for a vacation, I live in a tourist destination. Many flock here in Winter to ski, see the wild life, ice fish, many celebrities have summer second homes here because they can just be one of the locals.

When I retire in a few years, this empty nest, middle age woman is going to live a dream my late husband and I shared. I am going to buy a motor home and travel. I would like to see Oregon again. Take my time and see Cottage Grove, Astoria, walk along the beach barefoot enjoying the salt breeze in my face. Walking along the beach and finding shells, watching for whales and dolphins jumping out of the water. Digging for clams,listening to the ocean waves crash the beach. It will be nice not to have a plan for the day , if I want to go hiking, I can, if I want to fish for the day. My husband and I talked about visiting Maine someday. He wanted to go when we could see the changing leaves, get a good lobster dinner, ( not look and act like a tourist) sorry honey but we would be. We thought about visiting the Smokey mountains,I don’t think he was so into Dolly Wood although I bet is an incredible Theme Park.  I would like to see where my grandmother grew up in Oak Ridge Tennessee. I am sure her childhood house is long gone, but it would be fun to see where she went to school. My grandparents built houses, I would love to see one of them in my travels. Flying has become too complicated for me. I have a Fight Attendant friend who tells me her horrors of flying(and she knows where the terminals are). I would not like to fly the friendly skies. Instead I would like to set out on a simple day trip with a good friend for company.

2 Comments

  1. Ann Coleman said,

    I think getting a motor home and traveling would be a terrific way to spend your retirement years!

    Like

    • healinginthestorms said,

      Thank you Ann,my next door neighbors do not know how much they are going to be kidnapped this summer. We are visiting the Historic Districts of Spokane.

      Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

