Stop And Smell The Roses

March 3, 2017 at 8:57 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking) (, , , )

images (9)

 

This is the starting of March memoir Madness. I would like to include of fond memory of meeting and making lasting friends

Everyday is a wonderful day to make lasting memories. I remember while still in college, my new neighbor and I became fast and lasting friends. We had a few things in common, we both moved to Idaho from California with our families in our late teens. We still laugh today about how both of us decided on Thanksgiving day to give our moms a break and prepare the whole dinner ourselves. Both our dads laughed and snickered”they will be asking for our help half way through the preparations” we sure fooled them. We not only cooked the turkey to perfection, all the sides and desert was to everyone’s delight. The good old days. Both our families had many parties and holidays at my parents house. In the winter, serious sledding was on the agenda for the afternoon. My dad would pull us around the neighborhood in his 1946 willies Jeep. When we could not feel our fingers and toes anymore, mom had hot cocoa and chocolate chips cookies hot out of the oven waiting for us. Christmas was spent at our home( the neighbors lived right across the street). Before my dad became too ill, he took many video camera memories of  sledding parties, great lively conversations, home-made wine, and opening of gifts.

My parents took more pictures and videos in the new house than all the years combined growing up on the ranch. I am glad someone grabbed the camera or video because mom and I like to look back on the fun times our families shared boating, camping, visiting my parents cabin, and memories when *Sally and I were married. My dear sweet friend sent me a card with Magnum PI on the front. The card loving said inside “single, but not for long”. This is the girl friend that we found fun just going to the dump for her dad. Her mom often remarked”it doesn’t take much to make you two happy”. We both eventually moved away from each other, I stayed in my hometown while she and her family lives in Seattle. We keep in touch as often as our schedules will allow. I visited my friend a few years ago when my friends from The Village People singing group was performing at a venue. *Sally was thrilled to meet my friend Glenn Hughes(the biker) and Alex Briley (the GI). Glenn invited my son and I to see his concert. Glenn surprised my son, *Sally, her daughter and I to go to lunch with him after we met him at his Hotel.  It was a fun day had by all. Later that night, my son fell asleep, so *Sally ad I went to the concert and met the group back stage. what a fun night. We took pictures for a lasting memory.

Sometimes our busy lives keeps us,overwhelmed, grouchy, with no end in sight. Take the time to smell the flowers in your life and know how blessed you are. It may be difficult at this moment with family troubles, illness, aging parents, but let your family know how much you love them because we are not promised tomorrow.

1 Comment

  1. Ann Coleman said,

    Good advice!

    Like

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

