A Place To Call Home

April 6, 2017 at 5:01 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking) (, , , )

 

My family moved to our small town when my brother and I were in College. Having grown up in a small town all my life, I had a easy adjustment. One adjustment I had was one flashing red light as our stop light. We only had three thousand people living here at the time so I guess the one light was sufficient. I could not believe how beautiful it is here. I have never lived within thirty minutes of the national Forest( great huckleberry picking) just watch out for the bear that might be 20 feet from you eating his berries. That was scary the first time it happened to me. With not many houses in our neighborhood, sledding in the winter was (well with my dad,it was interesting) he found it fun to turn a corner fast and see if you could cream the parked car. Most of the time he managed to do just that. We teens were young, banged up and ready for the next ride. When we could not feel our finger and toes anymore,we went inside to hot cocoa and home-made chocolate chip cookies to thaw out.

I left my hometown in College. I grew up in two small towns, so I  was used to everyone knowing each other and yes they tattle to my parents. The teachers would have  parent/teacher conference with my mom and her teller window. One would think my brother and I would be model students. When my brother and I were eight,we moved to the ranch on the outskirts of town. The nearest neighbor lived a mile away; We had the run of the orchard behind our house to ride our horses. The rancher gave mom all the avocados, and grapefruit she wanted on the ground. friends came over often to ride the horses and see our lambs as we were getting ready for the fair. My family probably would not have left if my dad would not have gotten hurt on the job and my Grandmother moved. It was exciting planning a move to a new town, a new house, making new friends, finding a new church, and finding a new job. I continued my degree in a nice College. I know some families come here for a year, after the first winter, they move. They leave behind so much beauty,nature, wild animals that I have grown to love to watch.

 

2 Comments

  1. Ann Coleman said,

    There are many advantages to living in a small town!

    Like

What do you think?

Old house in the Shires

Family life and adventures in an old house and garden in the English countryside..

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Definitely older, possibly wiser....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

Inspirational Christian Blogs

Join us for inspiring words from today's best Christian authors

Have A Dream

Our key to success is making our dreams come true.

