A Fresh Cut

April 28, 2017 at 9:15 pm (Creative Non- Fiction, Memoir, Middle age, positive thinking, Single Parent) (, , )

Last October, I went into my favorite Salon to get my Fall do. I usually cut my hair the same way all year round,this time I decided to let my hair grow out. I did not realize the difference in the way I was treated with longer hair. I guess I looked really young to people. A couple of weeks ago, I went to a play at the College. I almost thought the play was cancelled because it was fifteen minutes before the first act, and nobody was in line yet. I was about to enter and find my seat, when the usher showed me the sign on the door that read (serious) ‘ For Mature Audiences). I almost asked her how old she thought I was, but chuckled and found a seat. I have been told it is a compliment to thought of as younger than ones age. I am fifty five and not having a single problem with my age. 

I laugh at the memory now, but back in High school, if you had long hair like Marcia Brady, you were expected to keep it long. (I think so the others could watch you walk down the hallway and admire it). My problem was one, I hated my long hair. I could not get a regular job because I looked too young, and my hair was really thick and hot in the summer. I was a brave soul once and actually cut my long beautiful hair three inches.(gasps) I though I committed a cardinal sin or something. People who never talked to me before wondered why I would cut MY hair. I cut my hair when I was out of school and moved to another State; I cut my hair in the popular Lady Diana cut nobody liked the cut, I had a headache for three days afterwards and wanted my hair back even if I had to glue it back together. I have lived with the same cut for over thirty years now. I have a nice color and will not let my hair grow out again (until fall, when it turns cold).

Being middle age, I look at things different now. If my socks do not match, it will not kill me or the one who noticed and had to point it out to you(true story), My sunglasses are almost always in my car console, Keys always(yeah right) go in my purse the second I get out of the car, I will never forget my grocery list and find the items by memory. My body hurts when I wake up in the morning, I have not even gotten out of bed yet, I will probably almost always go into a room and wonder what I was in there for, where did I park my car?, I had it in my hand a minute ago. 

I am learning people are too busy, slow down, just remember, have fun, does it have to be perfect?, are you living your dreams or did life happen?, Some of us are in the best years of our lives. Those who have grand kids look forward to the next visit, some folks are pet grandparents and look for the next visit as well. I wake up each morning and listen to the birds chirping, I hear many birds in the trees all happily talking to each other. The squirrel running up and down the trees in the back yard and the dog serenade.  I open my window in the cool morning and sip my first cup of coffee. After my son became a young man, my time was freed up because he could make his own appointments and drive there himself. (although I would like to take him one last time). Life is what you make of it. everyone has had disappointments along life’s highway. Some become angry and bitter, while others make a pitcher of lemonade. I want to squeeze out every ounce of life I have left and I am thankful for the love and support of family and friends. Life is good indeed!

 

What do you think?

Reinventing Middle Age

One couple's guide to dealing with trials, tribulations, and cosmic crap

Elena Xtina

Poetry & Memoirs

It's All About The Shot

Getting to know your Quadcopter Drone

Blog of a Mad Black Woman

Life Experiences, Quotes & Randoms

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

Olufunke Kolapo

Healing • Inspiring • Awakening • Fulfilling •

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

englishplus966

There is more than meets the eye to being an English teacher, writer, editor, or language connoisseur, especially abroad. This blog is for language teachers, learners, and users alike.

Elyk Photography

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Gin Getz

Sharing an untamed view.

laragonphoto.wordpress.com/

Calgary, Alberta | © 2014 - 2016 Leo Aragon

kenssimpleview

A fine WordPress.com site

Brecon Cottages' Blog

Hundreds of beautiful cottages in the Brecon Beacons

